Anxious Comfort

I’m screaming in the ocean,
letting the salt corrode the words
off my tongue,
and spiral into small bubbles
that leaves you with only the sound
of a faint whisper breaking the surface.
I breathe in with the intent
to fill the empty pockets that my lungs
were not strong enough
to give you the air you needed.
I tried to give you these words
but was muffled by the weight
of suffocating in the silence
that hugged me
when no one else could.


Check out my book, The Four Stages of Poetry, available on amazon!

13 thoughts on “Anxious Comfort

  1. Well that was deep…. -rimshot- get the pun? deep like the ocean? no? I’ll just let myself out -walks out-
    -walks back in- Ok i got too much to say to leave it at a stupid pun, this was really really good, I like how the analogies are just so…. idk… like the lung one in-
    “I breathe in with the intent
    to fill the empty pockets that my lungs”
    I love these two lines because they flow so well with the piece but it’s like everyone tries to say the right thing and a lot of the time, falls short, like my terrible and unamusing pun up there ^^ But in reality, it’s hard to say the right thing at the right time, and this just captured that moment of going to say something you want to, but being too scared to do it, great job ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment